Chapter events - United States

We will have Iran Narges from the City of San Francisco and Aza Damood from Fannie Mae, Washington D.C.

We will have Iran Narges from the City of San Francisco and Aza Damood from Fannie Mae, Washington D.C.

We will discuss Service Design thinking and solutioning in the Government/Public space.

 

TOPIC:

Service Design in Government

How different is Service Design in the Government Space? Are stakeholders more available than in private sector? Are there any new dimensions to consider when building public sector services?

 

You will learn from Iran and Aza what it takes to organize and run a service design project in a government structure.

 

A little bit about Iran:

• Iran Narges, Lead Service Designer, City of San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

Currently Lead Service Designer at San Francisco Digital Services, working on the city’s new Permit Center Experience, and leading the Service Design team.

Iran began practicing service design in 2013 at Adaptive Path, building on 15 years of graphic design and art direction experience across a wide range of industries and media. In her previous role as Design Director at Capital One, she led a team focused on scaling service design and strategic design capabilities across the enterprise.

In 2017, Iran helped develop and teach the first Adaptive Path Service Experience Intensive. She also developed and taught CCA’s first-ever undergraduate Service Design elective with fellow CCA and AP alum Amber Reed (FA16, FA17, FA18).

Iran's design work has been recognized by design publications and organizations including the Type Director’s Club, HOW Magazine, Surface Magazine, and AIGA’s annual “50 Books/50 Covers” competition. I have a BFA (High Distinction) in graphic design from California College of the Arts.

In 2017, Iran officially became a public artist with the installation of my design for the Athens Avalon Greenspace tiled stairway. In 2018, Iran was part of the pro-bono design team that created the Safer Inside demonstration safe injection site, hosted by Glide and the Tenderloin Health Improvement Project.

 

A little bit about Aza:

• Aza Damood, Director Customer Experience Design, Fannie Mae, Washington D.C.

Aza has 15+ years of consulting experience, passionate about using empathy and human-centered design principles to solve complex challenges and create powerful customer experiences that matter to people, governments, and Fortune 100 companies.

 

Currently with Fannie Mae, Aza leads a team of in-house design strategists focused on innovative affordable housing solutions and spreading human-centered design practices throughout the organization. Prior to that, She helped establish and grow a service design and CX practice at Booz Allen Hamilton, led multidisciplinary innovation teams at Idea Couture, and worked to infuse strategy + technology + design for some of IBM's largest modernization efforts across US and Canada.

 

Aza has a Bachelor of Architecture from Cornell University, a Master's in Interactive Telecommunications from NYU's Tisch School of the Arts, and an MBA from York University's Schulich School of Business. Aza recently established the Service Design Network's Washington DC chapter, and is co-founder of Service Design DC, a growing community of professionals dedicated to furthering the practice of Service Design.

 

We will have a moderated open Q&A session for all attendees who wish to ask specific questions to Iran and Aza.

 

Interview will take place Tuesday August 11 at Noon, (Central Standard Time) Everyone is welcome to join the conversation from anywhere on the globe:

Zoom:

 

PW:

 

Here are some global time examples:

 

> Aug 11- Noon Dallas time (CST)

Berlin 7PM

Dubai 9PM

Hong Kong 1AM

London 6PM

Los Angeles 10AM

Melbourne 4AM

New York 1PM

Paris 7PM

Sao Paulo 2PM

Tel Aviv 8PM

 

Thank you and we'll "see" you on August 11!

Take care and stay safe!

Don`t miss out

Book your ticket